Long luteal phase?

Anything goes, as long as it’s related to TTC!

Moderators: unaffected, JessM, southernbelle, maddy

Long luteal phase?

Postby LeslieLou » Sun Nov 04, 2012 9:34 am

I have been charting and using OPK's for the last two months. I have discovered that I seem to have a long luteal phase- between 18-20 days. I have ovulated both times between CD12 and CD13, but then my period comes about 18-19 days later near or around CD 30. Is this ok? Will this affect TTC at all? Thanks for any information.
LeslieLou
TTC Princess
TTC Princess

Re: Long luteal phase?

Postby sarah819 » Sun Nov 04, 2012 3:15 pm

I just read this on tryingtoconceive.com:

"A long luteal phase means the female body continues to produce high levels of progesterone for more than 16 days past ovulation. While a long luteal phase defect is very rare, it can adversely affect fertility and prevent conception. One of the reasons a long luteal phase can be so confusing is that because of experiencing constant progesterone elevation, it means it can be very hard to determine when ovulation happens.

If a long luteal phase is suspected, there are certain hormone based blood tests which a physician can order to find out more information. Long luteal phase treatment can include keeping a daily record of body temperature to give the woman a better idea of when ovulation actually happens. It is also possible to mistake other conditions for a long luteal phase and when trying to conceive, a woman can find the condition very frustrating.

Most women will realize the cycle has continued for more than 28 days and think it means she is pregnant. High progesterone levels and an increase in body temperature can also be indicative of conception. Long luteal phase treatment involves speaking to a gynecologist and obtaining more information and possibly undergoing more tests to determine how to best handle the problem."