Tracking cycle after IUD removal

Anything goes, as long as it’s related to TTC!

Moderators: unaffected, JessM, southernbelle, maddy

Tracking cycle after IUD removal

Postby Beauty&Beast » Thu Jul 20, 2017 11:01 am

Hello all! I am a long time reader, but this is my first time to post. :)

My husband and I have finally decided to start TTC our first child. I had my Skyla IUD inserted about 2 and a half years ago, with no periods for the last two years. I would only have about 2 days of spotting, pretty consistent with when my cycle should have been starting. I had my IUD removed on July 6th. Two days later I had very light, pink, spotting, just when I wiped. A week after removal I had what seemed like heavy, brown, spotting, not really bleeding like how my periods used to be, but enough that a pantyliner was not enough. It only lasted about 3 days. Should I count this as my period?

It is so confusing trying to determine how to track my cycle now! I don't know if I count the brown spotting as my period, or what. Any advice? I would also love to hear about how TTC post-IUD removal went for anyone in the situation. :)
Beauty&Beast
Friend

Re: Tracking cycle after IUD removal

Postby BeeCee33 » Thu Jul 20, 2017 5:25 pm

Oi. I can share my experience, but be forewarned it's not the happiest. :/

I had the mirena for 1 year after my son was born. I didn't have periods while on it, but felt crampy once a month. I had it removed in November a day or two before O (I had a positive opk the day before removal) and spotted for 3 days. On the day my period was due (I'd tracked my cycles when TTC #1 so I know my LP length), I got some almost sticky BLACK blood/discharge for a few days. That was my period.