Infertility cost --> IUI & IVF

Any and all topics infertility-related, including treatment, emotions, and questions.

Moderators: unaffected, JessM, southernbelle, maddy

Infertility cost --> IUI & IVF

Postby V-Cas » Thu Jul 24, 2014 9:40 pm

Hello ladies, I've been reading up a lot on these posts and I have a bit of a silly question.
Infertility treatments and their cost, how do you all do it?
My insurance covers anything that may diagnose infertility but when it comes to actual treatments (IUI & IVF) I'm on my own.
I have a good salary and DH makes a good living too. Along with all the money we make we have a mortgage, car payments, student loans, and tons of other bills. We live very comfortably and some months we're able to put a lil a side. I see a lot of people throw around IUI & IVF treatments, does my insurance suck? (That was a rhetorical question, Im a teacher in Texas, of course my insurance sucks!) Or have you all been saving up for these treatments? Or do you know of any grants? This is our third year ttc. I had all the tests done with in a few months because my insurance covered it all. (All the tests I've had are fine, only thing wrong with me is I have slightly low progesterone, which is great when I'm on clomid, DH is perfect.) However, now that we need to move forward we can't really afford to. Am I alone with this? We can pay for one IUI out of pocket, but then we get pregnant & have no savings left, or we don't get pregnant and lost our savings and still have no baby. I guess I'm venting at how ridiculous insurance companies are and treatments as well as wondering how everyone else has done it.

Any imput will be greatly appreciated.
Married 4/2008
Ttc 3/2012
V-Cas
Friend

Re: Infertility cost --> IUI & IVF

Postby cbusch87 » Fri Jul 25, 2014 8:51 am