Need advice reg starting ivf or Iui

Any and all topics infertility-related, including treatment, emotions, and questions.

Moderators: unaffected, JessM, southernbelle, maddy

Need advice reg starting ivf or Iui

Postby daisy@36 » Tue Dec 02, 2014 11:56 am

Hi , i am new to this and i think i earlier posted under the wrong topic...anyway ,
we have received our offer for ivf (one cycle) and I am a bit confused whether to take it or not.we have been planning for IUI before we go for an IVF.
BUT THE IVF OFFER is available for acceptance only within 2 weeks of the offer and if we let it go , we cannot avail this again.
However IUI we can afford to finance on our own and IVF will be a expensive affair and practically not in our budget.
Please advice based on these circumstances should we postpone the idea of IUI and accept the IVF treatment.
I have never been on any fertility treatment before and this will be out first time.
Is it OK to have IVF first?? Since I have heard it as the last option people opt for.
If IVF fails then will I be able to try IUI also???or will that be a problem?

Pl. Help me decide???
Ttc#1,me 36 , dh 39
Bfp in 2007 , Mc@12 weeks
Bfp in 2009,mc @ 20 weeks, diagnosed with ic.cervix
Bfp in 2010,placed a stitch at 13 weeks ,mc @ 25 weeks
Bfp in 2011, mmc at 5 weeks
Trying since 2011..unexplained infertility since 2013.
daisy@36

Re: Need advice reg starting ivf or Iui

Postby Danaa » Tue Dec 02, 2014 1:04 pm

Hello,i canot make a choice for you but we can talk about ur options,first of all how long have you been trying?how old are you and your husband?do you have any other children?what kind of infertility you have that you need IUI or IVF?
My Ovulation Chart
Me 29
DH 31
After 3 years in which we tried everything we are doing IVF in Greece with Iakentro Athens.
Short Protocol with Bemfola and Cetrotide
19mature eggs and we have 9 day5 blasto.
FET#1 ended in a loss around 5 weeks