Coulda, woulda, shoulda... I hate this!!!

This is the place to visit if you need the strength of prayers from your community of friends. Visit often, and receive encouragement to support you in your time of special need.

Moderators: unaffected, JessM, southernbelle, maddy

Coulda, woulda, shoulda... I hate this!!!

Postby hope682 » Tue Oct 14, 2014 11:17 pm

Hello everyone. This is my first time posting on this forum. I am full of angst right now and don't know who else to talk to! My story is a bit long... but I'll try to keep it as short as I can. Thank you in advance for reading!

So... I'm 32 and have a 3-year-old DS born in Oct. 2011. Since Dec. 2012 (when my periods resumed after childbirth), I have wanted to TTC again and give him a little brother or sister. However, DH (who had completely quit smoking when we conceived DS) relapsed into smoking e-cigarettes when DS was a few months old after a stressful day out in town, and I didn't want to TTC when he was still getting nicotine from his e-cigarettes (because of the DNA damage to sperm caused by nicotine), so I reluctantly decided to wait till he dropped down to the zero nicotine e-cigs before we TTC again. As I was waiting (and waiting...) for DH to drop down to his zero nicotine e-cigs, in January of this year I was diagnosed with hyperthyroidism caused by Graves Disease. The medications that I am on are considered Class D for pregnancy, which worries me a lot, but I'm trying to stay hopeful. It's hard though, because I've read that Graves Disease can affect fertility and cause a higher rate of miscarriage. For all of this year, we have been delaying TTC not only because DH was still smoking his nicotine e-cigs, but also because my thyroid hormone levels were not stable, and I needed them to be stable before we could TTC.