Newbie here!

Meet others who are TTC in their 30s

Moderators: unaffected, JessM, southernbelle, maddy

Newbie here!

Postby TTCtexan » Fri Nov 21, 2014 11:49 am

Newbie, rookie, TTC virgin. :-)
Hi Ladies,
I've been stalking the boards here for a bit and decided it's time to join. I'm 36, TTC #1. (And 36 is ancient for TTC by Texas standards!!) Just really started getting serious about it this cycle. DH is a few years older, will be his #1 as well.
I have a regular 28 day cycle, but have never charted temps or anything beyond keeping track so I know when to expect AF.
I'm on Day 13 today and would love to find a buddy on here in a similar situation. I love all the support everyone gives on here - I have found answers to questions I didn't know I had!!
I definitely have an impatient nature, so I'm way curious about trying preseed & soft cups - they seem like a very easy, noninvasive way to help possibly speed up this process.

Glad to finally be here and excited to meet y'all!
TTCtexan
Friend

Re: Newbie here!

Postby pumpkinseed » Fri Nov 21, 2014 12:08 pm

Hi TTCTexan,

Welcome! I'm fairly new here, too. I'm 36, husband 42, trying to conceive our #1 also. My cycle is usually 28-30 days. Lately it's been 30 days. I can pretty much count on my period the same day each month. My labs came back good, husband's counts are good but his morphology (normal shaped sperm) is low, so I'm worried about that, even though nurse said not to worry, he has enough "normies" to get in there apparently as his sperm count is quite high. I am considering IUI after cycle 6 but we'll see. I don't like drugs - I like doing things naturally. I know they say it can take awhile, but if we can up the odds, I guess it's worth a shot.

I recommend BBT charting, just to get a feel for when you're about to O. Fertility friend has a free app so you can record your temps, symptoms, etc. I also use OPK's (the wondfo cheapies) but I have to admit they are addictive and haven't helped me so far :(