Miscarriage after miracle

Support for anyone experiencing a miscarriage or looking for support from others who have been there.

Moderators: unaffected, JessM, southernbelle, maddy

Miscarriage after miracle

Postby moggiee » Fri Oct 02, 2015 5:18 pm

My name is Meg, and I have been on an emotional Rollercoaster over the past couple of months. My partner and I found out that we were pregnant quite early as I work in a lab so was able to test myself. So we knew from about 3 weeks. I had already been taking all my vitamins, and staying away from all the danger foods etc.
At 5+2 I realised that my HCG levels had not risen (2980-3070 in 5 days). This was my first trip to emergency. Where they scanned me and said that as my levels werent rising, there was no heartbeat or fetal pole, that it was an nonviable pregnancy, and to go home and wait for miscarriage. I went to see my GP and after a few calls they were all ready to send me to hospital for treatment. The OBS on call at the hospital decided to wait, and get me another scan.
So the long wait started, and 10 days after the original scan I went in expecting the worst. The Ultrasound Technician showed me a healthy heartbeat of 148 and told me our baby measured at 6+5 and had a due date of April 28 2016. I was shocked and cried and it was so hard to get excited again after already grieving a loss. My doc suggested another scan the following week just to make sure that all was good, and again, a strong heartbeat 168 and an extra days growth, measuring 7+6. This was when i got really excited again.
We did a road trip telling the whole family, and a few close friends the news. Everyone was so excited for us. And at 10 weeks i was talking about the 12 week scan how excited i was to see all the parts of my baby, and How we were planning to announce it to the world.