Newly Diagnosed, Thin/Mild PCOS

TTC with Polycystic Ovary Syndrome? Find support here!

Moderators: unaffected, JessM, southernbelle, maddy

Newly Diagnosed, Thin/Mild PCOS

Postby FingersCrossed0220 » Sun Apr 28, 2013 8:13 pm

Ever since my cycles started (age15) I always knew something was off with my hormones. My cycles have never been regular, anywhere from 32-45ish days long, maybe longer but I didn't start keeping close track until recently. I went on BCP when I got married (age21) and took them for 3 years until this past december when DH and i decided to ttc. Immediately after going off bcp my cycles went right back to being irregular. I also have acne which got a little better while i was on bcp but got bad again when i stopped. I am tall and thin, 5'11" 135lbs. I am also a labor and delivery nurse and so I recognized the PCOS symptoms immediately. My father is a GYN so I requested to have my hormone levels checked and lo and behold my testosterone and DHEA were high, my LH was high and my progesterone showed that I had not ovulated. My father gave me an unofficial diagnosis of PCOS and sent me to an RE who officialy diagnosed me with lean/mild PCOS. He called it mild because I am thin, my testosterone is only "slightly" elevated and I do not have hirsutism. He diagnosed me mostly based on my irregular cycles and acne. He sounded very confident (which was releiving) and said that because I am young (24) with only mild PCOS it should not be difficult getting me pregnant. He said he has never had a 24 year old patient that he was not able to get pregnant, which made me feel better, but I still cannot help but feel scared and upset. I will be starting on Clomid once my next cycle starts, whenever that may be, I am on cycle day 42 and no AF yet. RE said Clomid should work well for me and did not mention doing a trigger shot or checking mid cycle for follicles, is this something I should request? I have read so many stories of Clomid not working for women with