Unsure what to do :/

TTC with Polycystic Ovary Syndrome? Find support here!

Moderators: unaffected, JessM, southernbelle, maddy

Unsure what to do :/

Postby SomedayAMommy » Thu Feb 06, 2014 1:46 am

Okay...so I'm still new to this whole thing and we've been trying for 4 months. I've been using OPKs for 3 months now and the first month they seemed to work well. Got a positive, so we dtd...still nothing. Second cycle it was a bit weird. I worried I got a bad batch of the test strips because the test kept coming up positive, and the control line was non-existent which means its invalid.

So this month seemed to be okay...until I started testing positive after the day I thought I Oed (26th of Jan). So now (after reading up on some things) I've heard that if you have PCOS the OPKs are useless because it just gives positives all the time.

Okay so here's my question(s)...How do you find out what day you ovulate if you can't test for it? I heard about temping...but I'm not sure how that works if you have PCOS and your cycles are really irregular. Does it still work the right way? Any suggestions, advice or comments? (would be greatly appreciated!)
SomedayAMommy
Friend

Re: Unsure what to do :/

Postby Thully_1980 » Thu Feb 06, 2014 2:46 am

Hi.

With temping, you'd be able to tell because the temp dips when you release the egg and after O'ing, your temp will rise due to the presence of progesteron...so I think its a much more accurate way of testing for a person like you.

If you are irregular, I think temping should be your thing coz you might think yoy O on a certain date and could be wrong (could O earlier or much later than anticipated)

That was my limited-knowledge response. Hope it helps a bit.
Me - Thully - 34 - Diagnosed with PCOS(because of hormonal imbalance) by gynae in Jan 2014
Dh - Jimmy - 54 - has 4 children from previous marriage (Incl twins)
TTC #1 together, for 16 cycles

My Ovulation Chart