Twitching/contracting uterus

Support for anyone who has been diagnosed with endometriosis, or thinks they may have endo.

Moderators: unaffected, JessM, southernbelle, maddy

Twitching/contracting uterus

Postby Lulubee » Sun Oct 30, 2011 10:15 pm

Hi everyone,
I'm quite new to TTC - currently in the TWW for cycle number 4 - but am wondering if I have endo.

I have pre-AF spotting for about 4 days or so (brown), which I've had for the past few years but not always. And I get increasingly clotty AFs these days - with some big clots. I don't get a heap of pain but I know not everyone does.

The oddest thing - and the thing I'm wondering about most is that ever since we started TTC - literally a couple of days after our first unprotected BD - I have been getting strange uterine contractions. It literally feels like my uterus is squeezing just for a second and then releasing. They are quite strong - so much so that DH can feel them if he rests his hand on my stomach. They are not painful but I do feel midly crampy in general down there. They seem to be completely random and not necessarily in a row. I might get one and then not get another for several hours or even a couple of days - or I might get dozens in a day. One thing I've noticed this cycle is that they are at their most frequent during the early luteal phase. I think they occur throughout my entire cycle but they've really ramped up since O this time around. I've been reading a bit today and over the weekend that a common problem with endo. is the over-production of prostaglandins, which result in the uterus contracting too strongly and when it's not supposed to - which interferes with conception, implantation etc.

I was just wondering if anyone also experiences such contractions/twitches and if you think I do have endo. based on these symptoms?

I'm looking into this with an ob/gyn but it's early days so I'm just trying to figure things out.

Thanks so much
Lulubee
Girlfriend
Girlfriend