Giving up Alcohol

TTC in our fabulous forties!

Moderators: unaffected, JessM, southernbelle, maddy

Giving up Alcohol

Postby Cesca10014 » Tue Feb 09, 2016 9:50 pm

Hi there! This is my first board and my first post. I am 41 and trying to conceive after 2 previous pregnancies. I did not want a child until bout 5 years ago but did not listen to the doctors when they told me that it would be more difficult at I grew older. With that, I am in the wine industry. I taste wine for a living and attend dinners and events where this is the focus. I live in a major city and there are many social and work events centered around drinking. While moderation is not an issue, I am finding it very difficult to give up alcohol all together. Everything I am reading is telling me to stop. I don't drink every day- maybe two or three times a week at most. I have trouble understanding that two or three glasses of wine (4oz-not a gross amount) with dinner is hindering my fertility. Anyone else out there care to comment on this?
Thank you!
Cesca10014

Re: Giving up Alcohol

Postby southernbelle » Wed Feb 10, 2016 9:16 am

I'm 41 and I'm a lush! lol My history (in order) includes a chemical pregnancy, pregnancy with dd (at 38), a missed miscarriage last February, miscarriage in April (due to resulting scar tissue from Feb d&c), a chemical pregnancy in August, and so far a healthy pregnancy with #2 (10 weeks). That's six pregnancies and the only time I gave up drinking was when I was pregnant with dd. Even then I think I drank a small glass of red after the second trimester maybe five times total. I know there are varying opinions even with different doctors. The way I see it teenagers are getting drunk and knocked up on the daily, right? lol Also red wine is supposed to help with implantation during the tww.

Have you had any blood work or hsg done to see where you stand?

Also, I'm a little jealous of your job! :)
NTNP

Mar 2013 chemical pregnancy
May 2013 :bfp:
Feb 2014 Baby Girl :babyg: