New Here, Asking a Couple of Questions...

Come and meet others who are dealing with irregular cycles. Compare charts and get support!

Moderators: unaffected, JessM, southernbelle, maddy

New Here, Asking a Couple of Questions...

Postby ExtraSweetPea » Fri Apr 27, 2012 6:18 am

Okay, since I am new to TWW I thought I would post here because no one that I know personally has had irregular periods...I have always had an irregular period, when I was 16 I started birth control to regulate my period, Loestrin 24 Fe. In October I switched to Beyaz. I stopped taking birth control in December. I am now 21 and I have only had two periods since December. My DH and I started TTC after my last period in March.

I would like to ask what the longest cycle you had was and how you dealt with it.

I would also like to ask if my birth control history would have anything to do with how irregular my cycle is now.

Thanks!
ExtraSweetPea
BabyDuster
BabyDuster

Postby Cary2012 » Wed May 02, 2012 5:22 am

Hi ExtraSweetPea!

Similarly to you, I always had somewhat irregular periods and went on BCP to regulate. I came off BCP after being on it for about 3 years when I lost insurance. Seriously did not get AF for 5-6 months, then slowly started to regulate with the help of chaste tree extract (vitex). Ended up with 30-35 day cycles for a couple of years. Then I got married and went back on BCP. Came off that after a year and a half, back in August 2011. My cycles are still crazy. Last cycle was 119 days. This cycle is looking to be less than half that since I finally ovulated. I am taking chaste tree again, but I'm not sure whether it is helping as much this time around.

Doctors seem to indicate that coming off bcp can screw with your cycles for up to 6 months, and sometimes up to a year, although most women regulate much sooner. If you Google it, you'll find a lot of women who have had a time of coming off BCP.