Taking all the supplements at once?

This board is for anyone who wants to discuss TTC naturally with herbal supplements, etc.

Moderators: unaffected, JessM, southernbelle, maddy

Taking all the supplements at once?

Postby LiamsMommy » Fri Apr 05, 2013 5:47 pm

Hi all, I'm brand new to ttc on herbs/vitamins. I have pcos and have like 3 periods a year without taking metformin. I was on metformin 2000mg/day for almost 2 years with no bfp's, so i gave it up. Now I'm trying vitex, soy isoflavones, wild yam, evening primrose oil, maca, fertility blend sp-1, b complex, and folic acid. I haven't had a period in 3 months though, so I'm going to my Obgyn in a couple days to get back on metformin and possibly progesterone(?) to get my period ASAP so I can start my herbs. Can anyone tell me if how I plan on taking them sounds ok?

Vitex all cycle except during menstruation
B complex all cycle
Folic acid all cycle
Maca all cycle except during menstruation
Evening primrose oil cd1-O
Wild yam cd1-O
Soy isoflavones cd 3-10
Fertility blend sp-1 cd 3-10
LiamsMommy
Friend

Re: Taking all the supplements at once?

Postby Zraii » Fri Jan 03, 2014 6:41 pm

all of these are great, but you're missing all the critical vitamins for fertility from the list I see.

First of all, i would suggest as much vitamin C as you can stomach. I prefer chewable as its difficult to swallow and it doesn't irritate my stomach as much. You should take as much vitamin c until you get mild diarrhea, then step it back. My upper limit of vitamin C is roughly 30,000MG daily. Yes, you read that right, 30 grams. I would say around 10,000 is good. Also make sure your DH/SO is taking them as well. Vitamin C does great things for the little swimmers.

Take about 5,000IU or so of Vitamin D3 and also take Magnesium at 400mg. Calcium and magnesium work together in the body.

Take a b complex vitamin, plus additional b6 and b12. You can read more about it at doctoryourself.com