Egg retrieval cancelled/last minute IUI

Is in vitro fertilization helping you achieve your dream of parenthood? Discuss IVF, FET, donor egg and surrogacy here!

Moderators: unaffected, JessM, southernbelle, maddy

Egg retrieval cancelled/last minute IUI

Postby LlucyUnderhill » Wed Feb 11, 2015 9:26 am

First, has anyone else had to cancel the ER and had success with the IUI?

This is my first time posting here. I'm 34 and have PCOS. Basically I have been not-preventing pregnancy and actively trying with ART over 10 years. My loving and supportive DP has no male factor issues. After exhausting all our other ART options and meds, we finally decided to move on to IVF with an RE that I truly love.

So we started the whole Lupron, Bravelle and Menopur dance in January. Unfortunately, I wasn't responding fast enough so they had to heap on more and more meds until finally on day 13 I had tons of 7mm follicles but I only had 1 follicle at 22mm, 1 at 19mm and 1 at 17mm. My RE recommended that we pull the plug and cancel the ER. I could feel the tears coming.

The RE said if we wanted to still take the trigger that day, then he would do an IUI for free for us. He really is a nice guy on top of being a good RE.

So today is 4 dpiui. I know better than to get too excited but I'm still hopeful. This feels like the first time all the important parts were in the same place at the same time.

The RE said we had a 15% chance of pregnancy and then 30% chance of twins if pregnancy did occur. I honestly don't know how we could afford twins but let me tell you, we both agree that we'd find a way.

Just for reference, the cost of IVF here in Vermont has been:
    $2926.36 so for meds ($4475.06 before rebates from ivfgreenlight.com)
    $6,000 flat price to the RE for everything except for ultrasounds -$7000 if my insurance didn't cover them
    $500 to the anesthesiologist
    $500 yearly storage fee for frozen embryos after the first year.
LlucyUnderhill