Nervous and anxious to be a 1st time mom - help

Share your TTC success stories here!

Moderators: unaffected, JessM, southernbelle, maddy

Nervous and anxious to be a 1st time mom - help

Postby WishfulThinkingMary » Wed Mar 13, 2013 9:56 am

We talked about TTC for 8 months after getting married last spring, and on our second month of trying, i got my BFP. I have wanted this for so long, prayed so hard about it, and finally, it happened! Now, as the idea of having a baby settles in (i am a first timer), I am feeling very anxious and nervous... like "can I actually do this?!" and "did we make the right decision" and "what if I am not good at this" and "am i really ready for this huge life step?!"... just feeling very overwhelmed with emotions and feelings of discomfort. I am wondering if this is normal for 1st time pregnant moms?? Or if it is hormonal? I have a history of anxiety and panic attacks, and dont want those emotions / feelings to start again as I know how terrible it can be to deal with WITHOUT being pregnant. I guess I am looking for some comforting words from any women who have been through this, how they overcame it, and that they got through it alive and with peace and calm in the end. I am trying to stay as calm and relaxed as possible for the sake of the baby, but I am just feeling so nervous... any help or words of wisdom is appreciated.
WishfulThinkingMary
Friend

Re: Nervous and anxious to be a 1st time mom - help

Postby applemama » Thu Mar 14, 2013 7:14 am