Menu Search Account

BFP Stories

Early Pregnancy Symptoms and Big Fat Positives

1st child at 42yr, low AMH, vasectomy reversal

Like most posters on this site, I have been a lurker forever... I met DH when I was 38, got married at 40 and started our long TTC journey after that. He had a vasectomy 10 years before we met and the fertility gods suggested IVF with sperm retrieval . After 4 IVF attempts, I responded poorly to drugs, all BFN, we gave up that route. Decided we'd try vasectomy reversal as last ditch effort (July 2013). 6 months later I decided to take time out and just enjoy our dive holiday over New Year's with DH and my grown up stepdaughters (16, 19 and 22 year old). Started detox and exercise in January after break. AF was late (cycles usually 24-26 days), POAS on Friday (CD 29) as I was meeting friends (who would offer wine..) BFP !!!! so "I stuck to detox". Monday did first bHCG - 4245 (yes over 4000). After all those BFN, felt like I'd won the lottery! I didn't chart or do OPKs as I was taking a break. Only symptoms were missed period and the mildest ticklish cramps in my TWW (they're usually painful). I even bought sanitary pads while waiting for AF. After an uncomplicated pregnancy, I gave birth naturally to a healthy boy at 39 weeks (September 2014) just 2 months before my 43rd birthday (DH was 48). He is now a busy almost 3 year old and we've been trying for a sibling... so I find myself lurking here again for hope (at the young age of 45yrs). But thought I should at least share our miracle to give others hope.

Recent BFP Stories

Monday, March 12, 2018

Saturday, March 10, 2018

Tuesday, March 6, 2018

Friday, March 2, 2018

Thursday, March 1, 2018

Monday, February 26, 2018

Saturday, February 24, 2018

Thursday, February 22, 2018

Tuesday, February 20, 2018

Monday, February 19, 2018

Saturday, February 17, 2018

Thursday, February 15, 2018

Wednesday, February 14, 2018

Tuesday, February 13, 2018

Friday, February 9, 2018

Thursday, February 8, 2018

Wednesday, February 7, 2018

Monday, February 5, 2018

Thursday, February 1, 2018

Wednesday, January 31, 2018

Tuesday, January 30, 2018

Monday, January 29, 2018

Friday, January 26, 2018

Thursday, January 25, 2018

Wednesday, January 24, 2018

Tuesday, January 23, 2018

Monday, January 22, 2018

Thursday, January 18, 2018

Wednesday, January 17, 2018