Menu Search Account

BFP Stories

Early Pregnancy Symptoms and Big Fat Positives

39, 18 months ttc, 1st pregnancy!

This is long, sorry!
I can't tell all of you how very very grateful I am to be writing this. THere were many months I didn't think it would happen! Being a mom has been my biggest hope and dream since I was a teenager.

My fiancee and I have been actively TTC for 18 months. In that time my sister got pregnant, and my best friend accidentally got pregnant with her 4th child. It was so difficult.

I have to say what I think really turned everything around was discovering Julia Indochova's book "The Fertile Female: How the power of longing for a child can save your life and change the world". It took me from throwing major pity parties to becoming the strongest I have ever felt in myself. I read her books, began writing down my dreams, went to her workshops, did imagery work everyday alone and with my fiancee. And most importantly, I listened to myself and did what I felt I needed to do. I was even able to throw a baby shower for both sister and friend without crying at all! :)

So here's what I did:
cut caffeine, Usana prenatal vitamins, fiancee on Fertil-aid, we both got in shape again, lost a few pounds, acupuncture, we BOTH ate a LOT more vegetables, cut out all white flour and sugar (with an occasional cheat cuz you have to live!) and did the imagery work. Also- infused my relationship with a lot of love, made a point to let little things go. TTC is so stressful and it can take over your life if you're not careful. The panic I would often feel was overwhelming at times, until I got a grip and made this a journey about growth, and made a commitment to become the healthiest inside and out that I could possibly be. Knowing I was on the right path really helped me.

I have read so many stories on this site that have given me hope, as well. THANK YOU! it was a big part of my healing, and got me through some dark times.

Symptoms? Really nothing yet. My period was supposed to start tomorrow, so my sore boobs and sensitive gums could be attributed to that.
I would so appreciate prayers, healthy thoughts, etc., as I know it is still very, very early!
Thank you ALL! And no matter what, don't give up! You will find a way to become a mom.


Congrat! Thank you for posting your story, it gives me hope! Sticky vibes!

Congrats!! my DH and I have also been trying for 18 months and two sister-in-laws and countless friends got pregnant during that time! =( I've been lazy with keeping a clean diet (cutting out caffeine and eating right) so your story was a reminder that I neet to get back on doing that.  wishing you a very healthy 9 months!

Recent BFP Stories

Thursday, March 22, 2018

Wednesday, March 21, 2018

Monday, March 12, 2018

Saturday, March 10, 2018

Tuesday, March 6, 2018

Friday, March 2, 2018

Thursday, March 1, 2018

Monday, February 26, 2018

Saturday, February 24, 2018

Thursday, February 22, 2018

Tuesday, February 20, 2018

Monday, February 19, 2018

Saturday, February 17, 2018

Thursday, February 15, 2018

Wednesday, February 14, 2018

Tuesday, February 13, 2018

Friday, February 9, 2018

Thursday, February 8, 2018

Wednesday, February 7, 2018

Monday, February 5, 2018

Thursday, February 1, 2018

Wednesday, January 31, 2018

Tuesday, January 30, 2018

Monday, January 29, 2018

Friday, January 26, 2018

Thursday, January 25, 2018

Wednesday, January 24, 2018

Tuesday, January 23, 2018

Monday, January 22, 2018

Thursday, January 18, 2018