Menu Search Account

BFP Stories

Early Pregnancy Symptoms and Big Fat Positives

3rd month lucky

DH and I have been married for two years and withdrew use of contraception middle of my cycle in January. I am not counting that cycle though because I knew I had gone past O by the time we started TTC.

First cycle I just tried to time BD using an app. Nothing. AF came as per usual

2nd cycle started to get serious. Purchased fertility microscope, digital OPKs (clearblue advanced) and regular OPKs. The clearblue advanced was a waste of money because I o quite late in my cycle and I ran out of sticks before I ever got peak. I also got 5 days of flashing smileys. No way can I be that fertile right? On the basis of the standard OPKs I estimated I ovulated on CD18-19. I ended up having a 10 day luteal phase that month. Panicked and rushed out to the chemist to buy b6 and vitex

3rd cycle. Started AF on March 15th 2015. Light AF with not much cramps. Started testing with OPKs on CD12. This is the month we implemented SMEP. So we BD C12 EOD until my positive OPK (CD15 from memory?), day of positive OPK, day after, day after that, skipped a day and then went again. I got my BFP on 10DPO (but it was so so faint I didn't believe it until I got one again on 11DPO). Got darker on 12DPO, digital confirmed 1-2 weeks pregnant at 13DPO and the positive was very blazing at 13DPO.

I have had a bad history of period pains and so I had been seeing a gynaecologist who suspected endo. When we started TTC she ran alot of tests including hormone tests. All came back fine (estrogen, LH, progesterone etc). We also had a SA done on my DH. That came back not great. It said 20% motility and only 3% of sperm with normal morphology. Around 3 weeks later I found out I was pregnant. We were expecting it to take ages with DH's sperm issues. It's difficult to say if the doctors got the tests wrong, if we just got lucky or if the SMEP helps. Either way our first bambino is due December 23rd

As for symptoms... NOTHING. I mean nothing unusual/not similar to my usual PMS prior to my positive pregnancy test. I only got any kind of symptoms which I thought were unusual from 10-11DPO. Around 10-11DPO I got sharp pains in my hip, bad back pain, AF type cramps, spotting, fatigue and a weird acidy production from the inside of my cheeks.

In sum:

What I do recommend
-Frequent babydancing. Preferably the SMEP if you can
-Standard OPKs
-Good vitamin regime

What I don't recommend
-Rushing to the doctors for tests too early. Made us panic for no reason
-Digital OPKS (expensive and no merit above standard OPKs)
-Fertility microscopes . Hard to use

Good luck and babydust to all

Comments

Congratulations!

Congrats!! Welcome to Team December babies!!

How many mg of vitex did you take and did you take it the whole month or how?

I am not sure the vitex helped me because I only took it for around 2 weeks before I got pregnant! I will have to check the dosage when I get home from work

Recent BFP Stories

Thursday, June 14, 2018

Tuesday, June 12, 2018

Monday, June 11, 2018

Thursday, June 7, 2018

Wednesday, June 6, 2018

Tuesday, May 29, 2018

Monday, May 28, 2018

Saturday, May 26, 2018

Thursday, May 24, 2018

Wednesday, May 23, 2018

Tuesday, May 22, 2018

Monday, May 21, 2018

Saturday, May 19, 2018

Friday, May 18, 2018

Thursday, May 17, 2018

Wednesday, May 16, 2018

Tuesday, May 15, 2018

Wednesday, May 9, 2018

Monday, May 7, 2018

Tuesday, May 1, 2018

Monday, April 30, 2018

Thursday, April 26, 2018

Saturday, April 21, 2018

Friday, April 20, 2018

Thursday, April 19, 2018

Sunday, April 15, 2018

Saturday, April 14, 2018

Friday, April 13, 2018

Thursday, April 12, 2018

Tuesday, April 10, 2018

Monday, April 9, 2018