Menu Search Account

BFP Stories

Early Pregnancy Symptoms and Big Fat Positives

BFP after 4 CP's and 15 months, first time Clomid success, spotting

I started TTC'ing in August 2014. I have regular cycles and really didn't think it would take long to get pregnant (I was 31 and healthy). In September 2014 I tried opk's and to my surprise, I didn't get a positive opk until CD 20, which is crazy considering my 28ish day cycles. I then started temping and this confirmed late ovulation and short LP. The doctor dismissed my concerns and said to stop stressing. Fast forward a while and I had 3 confirmed CP's and one suspected. My doctor agreed to refer me to a fertility clinic where they did a full workup. Everything looked fine except slightly high TSH (5-6). I started on Synthroid and Progesterone supps during the luteal phase. Almost right away, I started ovulating earlier which I thought was great. But I then started having a lot of spotting around ovulation (I could feel ovulation for sure!) and during my LP. I tried not to worry about it but it was hard. After 5 cycles of nothing happening since the last CP, my doctor ordered a HSG and gave me a prescription for Clomid (50mg). I decided to go against the doctors orders to get the HSG before trying Clomid. I o'ed on CD 13! And sure enough, BFP first try on Clomid at 9DPO on Cycle 15! No one knows why the Clomid worked. I had a lot of spotting again ... 3DPO until 9DPO and then again a few times in the following weeks. Mostly brown and pink.
Beta's were 10DPO 18, 13DPO 64, 15 DPO 208, 22DPO 5300, 29 DPO 23000, 36 DPO 48300 (it starts to slow at this point)

My first symptoms were irritability and constipation. The constipation and bloating were pretty bad for 3 weeks (and I never have this issue). Breasts are sore. Right at the 6 week mark hit, the nausea started and hasn't let up since.

I am now 7 weeks 3 days and saw the little bean yesterday. Heartbeat was 155bpm. Still nervous but it's looking good so far. I've never made it past 5 weeks before. My advice would be to trust your gut. If you think something seems off, keep pestering your doctor. I'm so glad I didn't wait until the 1 year mark.

Comments

Congratulations.  Happy and healthy 9 mos.

Recent BFP Stories

Wednesday, October 18, 2017

Tuesday, October 17, 2017

Sunday, October 15, 2017

Wednesday, October 11, 2017

Monday, October 9, 2017

Saturday, October 7, 2017

Thursday, October 5, 2017

Wednesday, October 4, 2017

Tuesday, October 3, 2017

Sunday, October 1, 2017

Thursday, September 28, 2017

Wednesday, September 27, 2017

Monday, September 25, 2017

Saturday, September 23, 2017

Friday, September 22, 2017

Thursday, September 21, 2017

Monday, September 18, 2017

Tuesday, September 12, 2017

Monday, September 11, 2017

Saturday, September 9, 2017

Thursday, September 7, 2017

Tuesday, September 5, 2017

Saturday, September 2, 2017

Friday, September 1, 2017

Thursday, August 31, 2017

Wednesday, August 30, 2017