Menu Search Account

BFP Stories

Early Pregnancy Symptoms and Big Fat Positives

BFP with IUI/Poor Sperm Morphology

My husband and I have been trying to get pregnant for 2 1/2 yrs now. Found out 1 yr ago that my husband has extremely poor sperm morphology. He underwent correction for a varicocele, but sperm never improved even 11 mos after surgery. RE recommended we go ahead with IUI procedures. First procedure failed and DH's sperm morphology was 0% at that time. RE recommended we go ahead and consider in vitro and skip any more IUIs. We told her that in vitro was not going to be an option for us ethically. We insisted on continuing with IUI. We had second IUI done and his sperm morphology had improved to 2%. Not much of an improvement but it was huge for us! RE likes it to be at least 4% for successful procedures.

Was surprised to notice the following symptoms post IUI:
DPIUI = 2 : felt sharp pains in lower abdomen that I didn't feel after the first IUI
DPIUI = 3-14: felt absolutely nothing. none of my normal post-ovulation breast soreness, no moodiness, no nothing. However, I did get a random cold on day 12 that I didn't think much of until a friend said that a cold can often be an early pg symptom.
DPIUI = 15: was just beginning to feel hopeful I might be pg when I noticed some ever-so-slight spotting of brownish mucous. I was sure I was getting my period. It never came. Slept very poorly this night and had constant "pulling" sensation or slight camping in my lower abdomen. Also was developing tender breasts.
DPIUI = 16: more ever-so-slight spotting. No period. My friend convinced me to take a pregnancy test. BFP right in the middle of the afternoon!!! Current symptoms include developing breast tenderness, feeling warmer than normal (I'm usually always cold!), more pulling/aching sensation in uterus. Otherwise, I'm on cloud 9!

Let me say that if I and my husband can get pg after 2 1/2 yrs of trying and a fairly significant male factor fertility problem, YOU CAN TOO! I'm so thrilled to share my story and hope it gives you all faith it can happen for you.

Comments

hi ladies im 19 years old my doc told me i have poor follicles i had 2 in the right side and 1 in the left i started iui injectables 300 ml and i just had my iui today 4 good follicles 20s my DH had 98% motility so now im hoping everything goes well... baby dust :D

Recent BFP Stories

Monday, October 14, 2019

Thursday, October 10, 2019

Monday, September 30, 2019

Friday, September 27, 2019

Tuesday, September 17, 2019

Monday, September 2, 2019

Wednesday, August 28, 2019

Thursday, August 22, 2019

Thursday, August 1, 2019

Wednesday, July 24, 2019

Monday, July 22, 2019

Tuesday, July 9, 2019

Saturday, July 6, 2019

Wednesday, July 3, 2019

Saturday, June 22, 2019

Friday, June 21, 2019

Wednesday, June 19, 2019

Tuesday, June 11, 2019

Wednesday, May 22, 2019

Saturday, May 18, 2019

Thursday, May 16, 2019

Wednesday, May 15, 2019

Friday, May 10, 2019

Wednesday, May 1, 2019

Sunday, April 28, 2019

Friday, April 19, 2019

Friday, April 12, 2019

Wednesday, April 10, 2019

Sunday, March 24, 2019

Sunday, March 10, 2019

Tuesday, March 5, 2019

Friday, March 1, 2019

Thursday, February 28, 2019

Tuesday, February 26, 2019

Saturday, February 23, 2019

Saturday, February 9, 2019

Friday, February 8, 2019