Normal Fetal Heart Rate, Gestational Age, Crown Rump Length

Congrats on on your pregnancy! Cramps, Morning Sickness, Food Adversions! Share your first trimester experiences here.

Moderators: B Michaelson, southernbelle, jessm, 1daysoon, reapage, Honey Bunny, unaffected, maddy, TrebleLily

Normal Fetal Heart Rate, Gestational Age, Crown Rump Length

Postby chorse37 » Fri Nov 06, 2015 12:33 pm

Hi Ladies,

I want to put some charts out there to help realize if your results are normal or if you should be concerned when doctors are less than helpful. I am a scientist but I did not work on this study; the original paper can be found here: http://www.karger.com/Article/Abstract/319589 If you're into that kind of thing I highly recommend you read through it.

Some background for why I'm doing this: I had a missed miscarriage a few months ago that was preceded by an ultrasound with heartbeat. The general advice I had read on forums and websites all pretty much say that once you see the heartbeat, you can stop worrying. That's why I was confused when my OB said I needed to come back for another ultrasound in one week. She didn't say I should start preparing for a miscarriage or even why my results were concerning, just that they wanted to "recheck". Being a scientist, I wasn't satisfied with that and started reading all the material I could get my hands on. From what I found about fetal bradycardia (slow heartbeat) I had an 85% chance of miscarrying. At the followup, there was no heartbeat and it was diagnosed as a missed miscarriage. I'm a firm believer that knowledge is power. I feel like if I hadn't been expecting the loss it would have been harder to come to terms with.

I'm not trying to say if you fall inside the "normal" lines you will have a problem-free pregnancy or that if you fall outside the lines you will definitely miscarry, but at least try to take comfort in the data. It helped me, at least.