Does anyone run a daycare out of their home?

Meet other moms who have chosen to stay at home

Moderators: B Michaelson, southernbelle, jessm, 1daysoon, reapage, Honey Bunny, unaffected, maddy, TrebleLily

Does anyone run a daycare out of their home?

Postby fortune313 » Thu Oct 06, 2011 8:01 pm

My husband and I are starting to consider making me a SAHM. For one big reason, I HATE my job, it isn't necessarily the job, it's my coworkers (I'm a 911 operator), and it's pretty much like high school except it's a much smaller group. Another thing is I'm back in school for my nursing degree and would love to pick the pace up to full time again, but with family/work that just isn't possible.

Were trying to add to our family and make another baby, right now my son goes to grandparents while we work but I know they would not do this if there were two babies to look after - and I completely understand because they are older and all but one of them have health issues so kids can be challenging.

So DH and I are were talking about refinishing the basement and setting it up like a daycare (tables/chairs, mats, books, toys, etc, I intend to have a "learning" curriculum so that the kids won't just be running loose all the time. There will definitely be a routine!) I thought I'd take on about 3-4 other children to help make up for my loss of a paycheck.

Does anyone else do this? Anyone not recommend it? Or have any better suggestions? If you do have this how much do you charge? How do you find clients? What is the biggest challenge of taking on a daycare?
Me (26) DH (28)

We're so blessed!!
# 1 EDD 02.11.10
-01/08/10- diagnosed with preeclampsia, induced 5 weeks early

Logan was born 01/09/10!!!
5.74lbs 17.5 inches

Currently TTC #2 (07/2011)

Dx: PCOS

Clomid 50mg -BFP - 09/13/12 (incomplete miscarriage @ 5w3d)
10/01/12 confirmed ectopic pregnancy

Still praying for a miracle # 2
fortune313
Angel
Angel

Postby Emmo » Mon Oct 10, 2011 6:06 am