Resentment?

Meet other moms who have chosen to stay at home

Moderators: B Michaelson, southernbelle, jessm, 1daysoon, reapage, Honey Bunny, unaffected, maddy, TrebleLily

Resentment?

Postby memphismomma » Tue Nov 15, 2011 7:08 pm

I'm a stay at home mom. I was a hair stylist with a large clientelle and I loved my job. After I had my son two years ago my boss was kind enough to let me come and go as I please. I worked 4 hours a week. Then my husbands job transferred us out of state. We went to Texas where I knew no one, had to give up my job, stayed at home with the baby and my husband worked sun up to sun down. I hated him. I felt like he took away everything I had. My career, my family, my friends. The problem is that I shouldn't feel that way because he was doing it for our family. He was working hard to make money for us. We have since moved closer to home and we are doing better (and i'm 9 months pregnant) so I'm not sure if its the hormones or what but i hate that his life seems to continue and mine is at a stand still watching mickey mouse everyday with my son. I have no friends, I have no one to talk to because most my old friends don't have kids yet and they go to the bar all the time. My husband is going on a guys trip this weekend to a football game out of state and i find my self extemely jealous, because I will be sitting here pregnant and with our son like every other day of the week.
Is something wrong with me and how do I fix this? I want my husband to be stuck with the kids for once or to atleast feel like he is. I love staying home with my son, I just hate that my husbands life goes on like before he had kids and mine is totally changed.
memphismomma

Postby monkeysauce » Wed Nov 16, 2011 7:01 am

A thought that helps me is that there are "seasons" in your life. No season is permanent, and each one has joys and drawbacks. Part of this season of having small children is that, yeah, a lot of other things you liked about life are now on hold.