Atrial Fibrillation/Dysrythmia while pregnant

Place to talk and find support for high risk pregnancy

Moderators: B Michaelson, southernbelle, jessm, 1daysoon, reapage, Honey Bunny, unaffected, maddy, TrebleLily

Atrial Fibrillation/Dysrythmia while pregnant

Postby SILKROSE1982 » Fri May 03, 2013 1:19 pm

In January, I had trouble breathing and felt my heart out of control. I'm a nurse, so I felt my pulse and talked dh through taking my bp. I felt my pulse and knew I was in atrial fibrillation. I called 911. I spent three days in the ICU on a chemical drip called cardizem until my heart converted back to normal sinus rhythm. I had a echocardiogram (its an ultrasound of your heart to check for abnormalities). That came back perfect.

It was discovered that my thyroid was out of whack. I also have Hashimotos and Hypothyroidism (Thyroid disorder/autoimmune disorder). I've had this for years and never had a problem. They THINK this might have been the cause, but really had no real reason why I went into the rhythm.

Exaclty a month later, in February, the same thing happened. I went back to the ICU and stayed only two days this time. I converted on the chemical drip after 12 hours. Still no reason. I now take a daily medication to control my heart rate.

We found out about our surprise in April. I am SUPER worried about the complications of being on this medication (cardiologist and OB approved it for pregnancy but said it can affect baby's heart rate). I am super worried about delivery and L&D. I had 42 hours of labor with dd. I did 37 of it natural and got so tired I asked for an epi that failed. So, I got the joy of feeling everything.

I have been looking into hypnobirthing. I used relaxation and movement and guided imagery with dd and that worked...but the goal is to keep my heart rate down and pain in control. I do NOT want an epi or a c section if I can avoid it.