Sore after c-section

Talk about your birth plan, ask questions, and share advice.

Moderators: B Michaelson, southernbelle, jessm, 1daysoon, reapage, Honey Bunny, unaffected, maddy, TrebleLily

Sore after c-section

Postby MorghanW » Fri Jan 25, 2013 4:35 am

So, I'm about 5 days post-op with my c-section. It was my first, so I have no experience. The incision is healing very nicely. It's tiny, hasn't had any infections or complications, and I only have a small line of stitches and glue (never needed a dressing of any sort).

I have been getting progressively better, but I am in a wheelchair, so I do a lot of transferring from toilet/wheelchair/bed/etc. I'm either sitting down or laying down (cuddling with Noah or resting). Sitting down and being active is usually fine. I'm not in pain and I am now back to doing all my transfers alone without issue, even if I am a little slower/more careful.

My issue is that whenever I lay down, I feel really stretched. It's extremely helpful at first, but when I go to get up I feel REALLY tight on the sides of my incision and I'm super sore for about 15-20 min until things get moving again.

Is this normal? I had my husband check my incision and he says it still looks great. I felt it and while most of it is squishy and easy to push on, the two sides of the incision are still really tight (as if the sutures dissolved in the middle but are holding tight on the sides). Does it take longer for the sides to get better than the bulk of the middle? I feel like such an idiot here.
Me: 31
DH: 33
:angel: 5/2005
DS: 2
DD: 1/19/2015 7lbs 9oz, 20.5 in @ 37w1d

MorghanW
Girlfriend
Girlfriend

Re: Sore after c-section

Postby Cayman4 » Fri Jan 25, 2013 8:36 am