My supply seems to be going down

A *supportive* forum for mommies who are breastfeeding :-)

Moderators: B Michaelson, southernbelle, jessm, 1daysoon, reapage, Honey Bunny, unaffected, maddy, TrebleLily, saraspi

My supply seems to be going down

Postby teachingmom » Wed Apr 11, 2012 9:12 am

I may be jumping the gun here but I feel like I can't make enough for him while I'm at work ( I may just be to stressed out about it ) I only have 6 more weeks after this week then I'm out for summer break so I really don't want to lose my supple. I'm on my third day back. So far he's eating between 12-18 oz while I'm at work.
I had been pumping some before to build up a stash and I will continue to do this on the weekends when I am EBFing. I have about 60oz in the freezer. I pumped after every morning feeding and usually 2-3 other times after feeding during the day.
I am a teacher so this week at work we are off schedule due to benchmark testing and it's messing me up on my pump times. My prep time is normally at 2:00 this week it's at 9:55 and lunch is at 11:20. This is how my day looks.
I nurse Will sometime between 3:30-4:30 then I go back to bed
I pump while I do my make up at 6:30 - I get about 6-8 oz combined.
I pump at 10:00 I get about 6 oz combined.
I pump at lunch 11:30 I get about 1-2 combined maybe.
Then I don't have another break I get home about 3:45 and try to feed him quickly b/c I'm full then I just nurse for the rest of the night.
Next week Ill be back on schedule I'll pump at 6:30, 11:30 and 2:00 then home by 3:45. I think I'm more just worried I'm going to mess up my supply. I feel like I should be getting 6-8 oz when I pump which I know isn't reasonable he doesn't eat that much they are only making what he eats. But I feel like they make more when he's actually nursing than what I'm getting with the pump.
Questions
Should I continue trying to pump after my afternoon/evening feedings?
Will my body get used to pumping and begin to make what he needs?