Weaning during pregnancy

A *supportive* forum for mommies who are breastfeeding :-)

Moderators: B Michaelson, southernbelle, jessm, 1daysoon, reapage, Honey Bunny, unaffected, maddy, TrebleLily, saraspi

Weaning during pregnancy

Postby MegsIsMommy » Sun Nov 18, 2012 8:28 pm

After seven cycles TTC we are pregnant! DD still is nursing many times throughout the day and night. What is the easiest way for her to get her to wean without causing resentment towards the new baby? She loves her "ninny"!
Megs {29} DH {32}
MegsIsMommy
Girlfriend
Girlfriend

Re: Weaning during pregnancy

Postby KJ511 » Mon Nov 19, 2012 8:54 am

Have you told her you're pregnant? Maybe you can start the weaning process without working talk of the baby into it... I'm not sure, I'm only on #1 and she's just 12 weeks old, so no experience--just my thoughts!
Me (Kelli)-28
DH-31

The Zebra family! :)
KJ511
Addicted
Addicted

Postby jessm » Mon Nov 19, 2012 9:50 am

I only have 1 baby, so I have no experience.

I would start by night weaning. She's old enough to where you can explain to her that ninny goes night night when she does and she can have them again in the morning. Then I would cut down to just nap time, morning and night. You should be able to keep her busy playing/distracted for cutting out those nursing sessions. As you are ready to cut out the rest I would tell her she's a big girl now, and big girls drink milk from a cup. It's going to be hard. I wouldn't worry too much about resentment towards the baby, I don't think you'll get that until the baby is actually here, and she's going to be jealous no matter what.

I know a few ladies on here tandem nurse, that's an option also.
BFP 5/4/11 at 10 DPO with our first!
8/2/11 it's a BOY!!!
BFP 12/20/13 at 10 DPO with baby 2!
3/19/14 it's a GIRL!!!

jessm

Postby oktober84 » Thu Dec 06, 2012 7:09 pm