When will supply equal demand?

A *supportive* forum for mommies who are breastfeeding :-)

Moderators: B Michaelson, southernbelle, jessm, 1daysoon, reapage, Honey Bunny, unaffected, maddy, TrebleLily, saraspi

When will supply equal demand?

Postby unaffected » Sat Jan 19, 2013 5:46 pm

Ok, I'm new to this whole breastfeeding gig. Henry is 10 days old, and I'm just wondering when my supply will equal his demand? Right now I seem to have more milk than he cares to drink, which makes for some incredibly painful downtime between feedings. Yesterday he was wanting to eat every hour, which was awesome. Today it's every three hours, which leaves me wincing in pain after about hour two. I talked to a lactation consultant a couple days ago when my left breast became incredibly engorged and had me in tears. She mentioned cabbage leaves, and I've used them twice today but not to any real relief. I know pumping is an option, but I want my supply to regulate, and I don't really want to make my body think I need that much milk quite yet.

Thoughts or advice? I would really appreciate it!
Me (Kara): 31 DH: 31 ♥
TTC#1 since 2007
:angel2: Jan 2012 - No hb at 9w1d - d&c (Turner Syndrome/Monosomy X)
FET#3 - BFP!
Henry Marshall arrived on January 9, 2013 (39w2d)
8lbs 5oz, 20"

My Blog
unaffected
Super moderator
Super moderator

Re: When will supply equal demand?

Postby h0ping » Sat Jan 19, 2013 10:15 pm

Hi!!! Your supply should even out soon....until then you can also try warm washcloths or hot shower let the water hit the breast (I did it from the side not directly on the front but do what s comfy for you) and if you have to pump ...nit much a half ounce or so whatever it takes to just relieve the pain and pressure if you don't empty the breast your body won't get the signal to make more.....you can then freeze the small amount you pump (again just enough to relieve pain) or dump it its up to you......