let the fun begin! (wash question)

Chat about your little darling's fuzzy bunz in here. :-)

Moderators: B Michaelson, southernbelle, jessm, 1daysoon, reapage, Honey Bunny, unaffected, maddy, TrebleLily

let the fun begin! (wash question)

Postby wife4life » Sun May 22, 2011 7:05 am

Ansleigh is in her first cloth diaper today! BG xs...we have a few more of these, a few kissaluvs 0's with bummis wraps, and a couple dozen gmd orange edge with thirsties xs covers. We'll see how it goes. I have a top load washer...we use homemade detergent...what should my wash routine be? My friend prepped them, so I am just learning...any suggestions?
Me (Blair): 25
DH (Stephen): 27
DD (Ava): 12/2007
DD (Ansleigh): 5/2011

Created by MyFitnessPal.com - Nutrition Facts For Foods
wife4life
Angel
Angel

Postby cneal » Sun May 22, 2011 10:36 am

What is your homeade detergent recipe?? Just curious

Wash routine is generally cold wash, no detergent. Then, hot wash with detergent & extra rinse. With your detergent you may need to play with the amounts until you find the right amount to use, usually use less than you think you need & build up (easier to add more than getting detergent residue out).

I added a link that has the bummis typical washing instructions http://www.mybabywearscloth.com/pages/laundryinfo.htm
Me 36, DH 34, DD 5, DS born 9/29/10
www.mybabywearscloth.com
cneal
Angel
Angel

Postby ivycrystals » Sun May 22, 2011 2:08 pm

What cneal said. The only thing I might add is oxi clean in your prewash.
ivycrystals
Girlfriend
Girlfriend

Postby wife4life » Sun May 22, 2011 3:07 pm

1/3 bar of fellsnappa soap....chop this up, or grate it.

Put three pints of water into a pot, warm on stove. Slowly melt the soap into the water on stove top. DO NOT BOIL, just slowly melt.

Once it is melted, add in 1/8 cup of PH plus (can be found in pool section of local grocery store)...(or you can substitute washing soda for the PH)...and add 1/2 cup of borax.