Brand New & Clueless! Please Help!

Chat about your little darling's fuzzy bunz in here. :-)

Moderators: B Michaelson, southernbelle, jessm, 1daysoon, reapage, Honey Bunny, unaffected, maddy, TrebleLily

Brand New & Clueless! Please Help!

Postby ktbug87 » Sun May 22, 2011 7:22 pm

We are not expecting our first until January, but we are sold on cloth diapering.

Which means I need advice!!!!

My first question is, how many cloth diapers should I plan on having or needing?

And then the big thing....what brand, and which diaper? I get very overwhelmed by reading so many reviews!

Do a lot of you use different diapers for different ages, or do you like the OS cloth diapers?

Thanks!
ktbug87
Addicted
Addicted

Postby stefanielynn » Sun May 22, 2011 8:40 pm

I'm still relatively new to this, but here is what I have/use.

Newborn: almost solely prefolds and covers. They are REALLY easy once you get the hang of it, and they are the cheapest to purchase. I also used some fitteds at night because they are easy to change when you're sleep deprived.

My little miss has pretty much outgrown her newborn prefolds (my favorites are Green Mountain Diapers--you'll see them referred to as GMD a lot--with a Thirsties duo wrap or Bummis whisper wrap). Now we use mostly prefolds during the day and a bamboo contour with snap-in microfiber and fleece inserts to keep her dry (with a cover) at night. I also have a lot of Bum Genius pockets, some Swaddlebees pockets, and Happy Heiny pockets. I use those off and on during the day, but honestly the prefolds are quick and easy. I have some sized Bum Genius all in ones that we use for the diaper bag or when she has doctor's appointments as they are the most trim and the easiest to get on and off. But they take awhile to dry and are the most expensive route to take if you make your entire stash with those (though they will keep baby dry and are very simple!)