Total newbie w/ questions

Chat about your little darling's fuzzy bunz in here. :-)

Moderators: B Michaelson, southernbelle, jessm, 1daysoon, reapage, Honey Bunny, unaffected, maddy, TrebleLily

Total newbie w/ questions

Postby Lisa79 » Sat Jan 07, 2012 11:59 am

Alrighty, so I'm only just barely over 8w pregnant now, but if all goes well, I would like to cloth diaper from the start.
With that being said.... I have absolutely NO idea where to even begin looking for what I want or what's good or anything.

A bit further down the road, I'd really like to start purchasing CDs since I know they can get a bit pricey, but like I said, NO idea what I'm even looking for.

Any advice, and suggestions on info.. just anything would be nice. I'd love to do as much research as I can and get as many opinions as possible before settling on one thing.

Also... how exactly do you clean cloth diapers? Like when there's a lot of poop... do you erm.. scrape the excess in the trash? Down the sink?
How do you get the stains out? Hell, I have problems getting stains off of socks... I can't imagine having to get pee or poo stains out.

And, how many CD should one have? Being that this will be our first, I don't know how many diapers a baby is going to go through in a day so.. yeah. Just a rough idea would be good :)
Lisa: 36 DH: 37
#1 took 3 years, 4 chemicals and lots of heartache to get, but our little Zoe was born 8/8/12
#2 took a little more than a year, random irregular cycles, Oren born 3/9/15
#3 surprise baby! Due August 12th 2016 :)
Lisa79
Girlfriend
Girlfriend

Postby stefanielynn » Sat Jan 07, 2012 2:32 pm

There are some sites that do trial packs of diapers. You pay a certain amount for several diapers, then keep and pay for the ones you want to keep after trying them out. I know Jillians Drawers does it, not sure of the others.