Newbie help please!

Discuss photography tips, cameras, and photo theme of the month ideas here!

Moderators: B Michaelson, southernbelle, jessm, 1daysoon, reapage, Honey Bunny, unaffected, maddy, TrebleLily

Newbie help please!

Postby njnectarine » Fri Jan 14, 2011 8:37 am

Wow, I just found this whole thread and I am amazed with your work girls! Amazing!
I am no professional photographer but I take tons of pics of my kids. I have a Canon Rebel XSi with a standard lens 18-55mm. I like the shots but I wanted to upgrade to something more 'prefessional' looking. Anyhow, my hubby got me 50mm 1.4l and to be honest I can't figure it out. First of all I can't get used to no zoom, and then the pics don't look that much different to me. I am about to return it but I am still undecided...should I keep it and practice or get something else?
Are there settings I should be using it with? I am lost and frustrated at this point :(

What I want to do is capture those special moments of my 2 toddlers (and a baby due in 4 months:)... Please , any advice would be appreciated!
Me-36, DH-40
DS- 3
DS- 1
DS# 3 due 5/19/11

njnectarine
Girlfriend
Girlfriend

Postby laurab007 » Fri Jan 14, 2011 3:34 pm

The thing that's nice about that lens is that you can really open up the aperture and use it in lower lighting situations. Also, you get a really nice blurred effect in the background with it when you open it up.

I love the pics I take with my 35mm 1.8. Not having the zoom takes some getting used to, but experiment with it a bit, especially w/o using a flash and you may be surprised.
Laura - 43 and still fabulous!
:angel: 1/19/10 M/C 8w5d d&c (triploidy)
No longer TTC

ImageImage

laurab007
Girlfriend
Girlfriend

Postby Babydreamer1326 » Fri Jan 14, 2011 4:26 pm

Play around with it more ;) I LOVE LOVE my 50mm 1.4 :D
Deztyni Dezyrae, 7/13/06
Caydyn Tayeshaun, 9/26/07
Layla Tymprynce, 3/20/09

Babydreamer1326
Girlfriend
Girlfriend

Postby anxious-annie » Fri Jan 14, 2011 5:25 pm