I need some feedback...

Discuss photography tips, cameras, and photo theme of the month ideas here!

Moderators: B Michaelson, southernbelle, jessm, 1daysoon, reapage, Honey Bunny, unaffected, maddy, TrebleLily

I need some feedback...

Postby lukesmommy » Sat May 03, 2008 8:55 pm

I just did my first editing/photoshop attempt and I know I'm not good... but I'm trying :wink: Anyways, here's the before and after - can anyone offer up some advice or what I can do better next time??

My neice and her daddy before their father/daughter dance:
BEFORE

AFTER

I was trying to get her teeth whiter but I was having a tough time. Also, I wanted to make her lips darker - but again, I suck at this! :wink:

What do you think?

TIA!
Me - 28
DH - 30
TTC #1 since June 2005 ~ 35 cycles total

IVF/ICSI #1 - BFP!
lukesmommy
Girlfriend
Girlfriend

Postby booboo » Sat May 03, 2008 11:07 pm

LOVING that pregnancy ticker!!!

I am still learning too, but here are my thoughts...

If you're trying to draw more attention to the subjects, I would blur the background to create a greater depth of field.

best way to make lips darker is to use the 'burn' tool.... just be sure to reduce the opacity so that its not crazy out of control, I usually keep it between 9-19%

Teeth whitening.... same deal as before, but use the 'dodge' tool. (burn= darker, dodge= lighter)

the color looks a little washed out.... check out this tutorial: http://www.flickr.com/photos/algengler/501093542/

I know thats a lot of info to throw at you, its a huge learning curve when you're new! What editing software are you using?
booboo
Girlfriend
Girlfriend

Postby lukesmommy » Sun May 04, 2008 5:42 am

Thanks Erica!! I knew you'd reply! :)

I'm using photoshop (don't know what version :oops: ). I'm a complete ammature though! (As you can tell!)