Menu Search Account

BFP Stories

Early Pregnancy Symptoms and Big Fat Positives

Pineapple + Robitussin BFP after 16 months

I have spent a lot of time on this website reading the BFP stories with interest. I’m so excited that I now get to share mine. DH and I have been trying for 16 months. We each have a child from a previous relationship but this will be our first together We found out shortly after ttc that DH had a varicocele, which could have been affecting fertility. He had varicocele surgery primarily because he was experiencing pain, so we do not know what his numbers would have been before the surgery. DH had a varicocele embolisation in late August 2018 - 9 months after we first started ttc. We were told there would be a minimum of 3 months before he would have an improvement in fertility. In the meantime, he did a semen analysis for the infertility clinic and his motility + morphology came back below average. However, the test was within 3 months of his embolisation. Fortunately, my tests came back normal and a dye test in January 2019 showed my tubes were clear. In early December 2018, we found out I was pregnant for the first time (just over 3 months after the surgery). Sadly this ended in a chemical pregnancy just 2 days after the BFP. Since the chemical, I have been even more obsessive with checking my sympoms. This month I ovulated early (I know from temping) so we just had sex 2 days before ovulation, on the day of ovulation and 2 days after ovulation. Things I did differently: 2nd month temping I took 5ml of Robitussin Chesty Cough mixture 3 times a day from 3 days before ovulation to the day of ovulation to increase CM. I cut a pineapple into 5 pieces (including the core) and are equal segments from 1-5dpo. I saw the Bromelain in pineapple can help with implantation. We used Conceive Plus, although have tried it on a few other cycles. On ovulation day, I inserted a menstrual cup to keep the sperm up there as I didn’t have time to lie down. I didn’t have any spotting this month either. With the chemical and my son, I had spotting around 10-11 dpo. This time.. absolutely nothing. Symptoms: 1-2 dpo - nothing 3-6 dpo - sore boobs (common each cycle) + irritable 7dpo-9dpo - itchy nipples and temp seems to be going up at 9dpo 10dpo - very mild nausea when hungry and slight heartburn (so mild I thought I was imagining symptoms) 11dpo - temperature still up and FF has indicated ‘possible triphasic chart’. My nipples are still itchy and had a wave of nausea when I woke up at 5am. I couldn’t resist, so I tested (twice!) this morning. BFPs. It’s my wedding anniversary in 2 days so I’m going to wait and surprise DH

Recent BFP Stories

Friday, April 12, 2019

Wednesday, April 10, 2019

Sunday, March 24, 2019

Sunday, March 10, 2019

Tuesday, March 5, 2019

Friday, March 1, 2019

Thursday, February 28, 2019

Tuesday, February 26, 2019

Saturday, February 23, 2019

Saturday, February 9, 2019

Friday, February 8, 2019

Sunday, February 3, 2019

Tuesday, January 29, 2019

Friday, January 18, 2019

Thursday, January 17, 2019

Saturday, January 5, 2019

Friday, January 4, 2019

Thursday, January 3, 2019

Monday, December 31, 2018

Sunday, December 30, 2018

Saturday, December 29, 2018

Friday, December 28, 2018

Thursday, December 27, 2018

Tuesday, December 25, 2018

Sunday, December 23, 2018

Tuesday, December 18, 2018

Monday, December 17, 2018

Friday, December 14, 2018

Tuesday, December 11, 2018

Monday, December 3, 2018

Tuesday, November 27, 2018

Thursday, November 22, 2018

Tuesday, November 20, 2018

Monday, November 5, 2018

Sunday, November 4, 2018

Wednesday, October 31, 2018