Menu Search Account

BFP Stories

Early Pregnancy Symptoms and Big Fat Positives

Very Weird Cycle => BFP!

I think this is a great example for ladies who are frustrated by their irregular cycles, and are worried it might mean they don't conceive right away.  Sorry for the length, but I think it's reassuring!

A little background: I have been charting and obsessing over my cycle since my husband and I got married.  In all honesty, I think it was detrimental to our sex life and added unnecessary stress to both of our lives.  In order to keep up the data collection but not worry about it, we made a little Excel program that allowed each of us to alternate symptothermal inputs, but that wouldn't let us see the pattern until after the cycle completed.  On our first month of "no-stress-conception" (which was, I must admit, a bit rabbit like -- woohoo! :P), and during a very weird cycle, bam -- BFP last week, at 18DPO.  Four of them, actually.  Haven't been to the doc yet (going in two days), but super upbeat and eager to start getting some real tests/scans!

My cycle was perhaps two short cycles, or one long cycle with breakthrough bleeding.  I am leaning toward two short cycles: one 27-day anovulatory (no temp spikes/erratic) followed by a short, scant period; then, another where I seem to have ovulated on CD8, as after that day my temps spiked and stayed high for 18 days.  I had a hunch (the DH even called it), but when no AF came, I knew I had to test.  Of course, this could all change if it turns out that scant period was actually implantation bleeding when I get a fetal age, but I am skeptical, as I never spiked in temps afterward and actually had a BFN (took it just in case) about a week after the bleeding stopped.

Here are the symptoms I've had since that CD8 temp spike:

1DPO-7DPO: Nothing out of the ordinary.
8DPO: Revolted by the smell of peanut butter (which I normally love but now appears to, sadly, be one of my pregnancy aversions!).
9DPO-18DPO: VERY wet discharge, abnormal for me.
14DPO-18DPO: Nauseous/food aversion.  Had to force myself to eat.
14DPO: Strong cramping, extremely irritable.
15DPO: Extremely irritable, VERY sore upper lady bits.
15DPO: Started strongly craving meat (and I'm a vegetarian!).
18DPO: One positive BFP!  Booked a doctor's visit.
20DPO: Crazy nosebleed (also abnormal for me, as I've never had one in my life), second BFP!

Anyway, hopefully the doctor can shed some more light on what went on with me this go 'round, but there isn't a doubt in my mind that I'm preggers!  Have had zero bleeding, just a bit crampy, nauseous, and emotionally insane since then.

I hope this information helps wannabe-moms that are nervous about their crazy, erratic cycles.

-Ashley

Comments

Your cycle(s) sounds just like mine! and it's a releif to read about someone with a similiar strange cycle(s) with a BFP! I have very irregular cycles. My DH and I were married in January this year and I have been charting for about 8 months. I don't ovulate regularly...about every other month (sometimes two in a row without Oing). I started a cycle on Feb 29 that appeared annovulatory followed by spotting and then I o'd soon after. I still can't figure out if I just had one really long cycle with mid-cycle spotting in which case I O'd on day 35 or if the spotting was the start of a new period meaning I O'd on CD11. Anyways! I'm on 7 DPO and dying to test but I don't have any symptoms. Doesn't feel like it's ever going to happen for me but trying to stay positive. It's just nice to hear others have irregular cycles and you still got your BFP! I can't believe you held out so long to test! Congrats!

Recent BFP Stories

Monday, October 14, 2019

Thursday, October 10, 2019

Monday, September 30, 2019

Friday, September 27, 2019

Tuesday, September 17, 2019

Monday, September 2, 2019

Wednesday, August 28, 2019

Thursday, August 22, 2019

Thursday, August 1, 2019

Wednesday, July 24, 2019

Monday, July 22, 2019

Tuesday, July 9, 2019

Saturday, July 6, 2019

Wednesday, July 3, 2019

Saturday, June 22, 2019

Friday, June 21, 2019

Wednesday, June 19, 2019

Tuesday, June 11, 2019

Wednesday, May 22, 2019

Saturday, May 18, 2019

Thursday, May 16, 2019

Wednesday, May 15, 2019

Friday, May 10, 2019

Wednesday, May 1, 2019

Sunday, April 28, 2019

Friday, April 19, 2019

Friday, April 12, 2019

Wednesday, April 10, 2019

Sunday, March 24, 2019

Sunday, March 10, 2019

Tuesday, March 5, 2019

Friday, March 1, 2019

Thursday, February 28, 2019

Tuesday, February 26, 2019

Saturday, February 23, 2019

Saturday, February 9, 2019

Friday, February 8, 2019